PropheticServant's photo
Sun 12/13/09 12:10 PM
This was a lovely post my dear. Thank you for sharing this with us! flowerforyou flowers flowerforyou

PropheticServant's photo
Wed 12/09/09 07:33 PM
lol yeah, I-65 totally rocks!! laugh

PropheticServant's photo
Tue 12/08/09 06:18 PM
I have been a professional writer for many years, but here is a bit of advice that I have taken from an extraordinary author who has helped me to stay on task and motivated. The advice I received from Jessica Bird is a "pay it forward" kind of thing. Jess first received it from Harlequin writer, Pat White, who got it from Don Miguel Ruiz. Now I am passing it along. =)

Here are 8 "Rules of Writing" to keep in mind.

1) P&R--Persist & Reinvent
2) Write Out Loud
3) Own Your Own Work
4) Plot-lines Are Like Sharks
5) Sweat Equity Is The Best Investment
6) Conflict Is King
7) Credible Surprise Is Queen
8) Listen To Your Rice Krispies!
-------------------------------------

** P&R--Persist & Reinvent: If you're not selling, or if you're not getting a good response to your material from agents or publishers, try something else, whether it's a new voice or sub-genre or even genre. Keep at it. Keep trying. Look for new avenues that interest you. Find a different path.

** Write Out Loud: Take your vision and execute it to the fullest extent of your capabilities. It is always easier to pull back than to push forward in revisions, and I think that the bolder you are in your first draft, the more likely you are to be honest with what's in your head.

** Own Your Own Work: Do not rely on your editor or your agent or your critique partner to identify and solve your plot, character, pace, context, pagination, or any one of the thousands of problems you have to work through when you write a book. Educate yourself on craft by critiquing the books you read, both the good ones and the bad ones. Ask yourself, What works? What doesn't?