Tritorium_Theory's photo
Fri 02/01/13 12:42 PM
I used to be a manager for a paranormal investigation group and was responsible for environmental readings and capturing EVP recordings.

For investigations I used to take an old analogue tape recorder (Feric C90 type II) and a digital audio recorder and have them placed in the same room to test if they captured anything simultaneously on both devices. I never got a result where they had the same recordings, but I think that was in part due to the filtering for the digital audio recorder, which ignored lots of background noise and so effectively could have blocked out sounds that appeared on the tape recordings.

During some investigations that were in the middle of nowhere and not near energy pylons or anything like that we had a few class B recordings and a handful of class A recordings as well. What made these recordings interesting is that when the audio recordings were played back, there were voices from people that weren't with the team at the time and appeared to be in direct response to what some of the other team members were talking about.

Who knows what the cause of EVP's is, I'm still not sure after all the investigations and such that I've been on. I think some of it may well be to do with radio bleeding but that wont account for all it.

One thing I will say though, is that it is somewhat unnerving when you are listening back to recordings and find strange noises or voices that are talking back in direct response to what people were saying at the time. Sometimes I think we will never know all the answers, but at least it's interesting looking for them, and it makes us think about the bigger picture.

Tritorium_Theory's photo
Thu 01/31/13 01:10 PM
Thank you for the feedback, I have added a bit more information now to my profile.

Tritorium_Theory's photo
Tue 01/29/13 05:28 PM