Community > Posts By > kissable0325

kissable0325's photo
Wed 07/23/08 05:58 PM
Edited by kissable0325 on Wed 07/23/08 05:59 PM
I am a mortgage loan officer and I can tell you that "I" am a very HONEST officer, I have NEVER put anyone into a mortgage that they couldn't afford, nor have I slammed them with HUGE closing costs.

Then you are one of the very few. One of the ways loan officers were being deceptive that I ran into a few times, as a real estate agent, was not telling my clients what to expect 3-5 years down the road. I tanked two loans that I can remember, while sitting across the table from the lending officer with my clients, by making those lending officers tell my clients what was going to happen when their 4.75% ARMs reset. One couple I was working with had a $40,000 annual income and had come to me pre-qualled for a $350,000 house. Their monthly payment was going to be in the neighborhood of $1800 a month. I went with them to one of the meetings with this loan officer and after a few minutes I asked the loan officer to tell my clients what their monthly payments were going to be in five years. He started beating around the bush and shuffling papers. My clients looked at me with the look of, "what are you talking about?" I asked them if this loan officer had explained to them how an ARM worked and the ramifications of having one. From the looks on their faces I could tell that he had not. I could also tell the loan officer was getting quite hot under the collar. Then I just spelled it out to them, seeing as how the loan officer was reluctant to do it. I told them their $1800 a month payment would become a $4000+ a month payment and the sh** hit the fan.