Community > Posts By > CHEFRON

CHEFRON's photo
Wed 07/13/11 02:14 PM

i have a compaq notebook with 2 gig's of ram and i am useing ready boost with an 8 gig jump drive to try and get a little extra out of it with out haveing to install more ram, it dosen't seem like it change much at all as far as the speed go's,

can anyone tell me if that is pretty much all you get from ready boost? ohwell

Ready boost helps with HDD performance, not RAM. If it's not helping much, then your HDD might be fairly fast or you aren't hitting the HDD enough for the Ready Boost to make a difference. But it sounds like you think the RAM is your bottleneck and you are probably right.

what is HDD & what dose it do? i'm kind of new to some things,
i think i a'm going to have to upgrade the ram. thank's for the input happy

you need at least 4 gig of memory for win 7... mine runs 1.5 gigs just when the comp is idle....

it's looking that way, thank's drinker

CHEFRON's photo
Wed 07/13/11 02:07 PM
Edited by CHEFRON on Wed 07/13/11 02:08 PM

i have a compaq notebook with 2 gig's of ram and i am useing ready boost with an 8 gig jump drive to try and get a little extra out of it with out haveing to install more ram, it dosen't seem like it change much at all as far as the speed go's,

Ready boost helps with HDD performance, not RAM. If it's not helping much, then your HDD might be fairly fast or you aren't hitting the HDD enough for the Ready Boost to make a difference. But it sounds like you think the RAM is your bottleneck and you are probably right.

HDD = Hard Disk Drive.

What are you trying to do with your laptop that is taking so long? Do you have anti-virus and anti-spyware software installed? Have you defragmented your disk drive?

well i was trying to gain more performance,make it faster with out changeing the ram,i have anti-virus & anti-spyware installed,i also defrag the disk drive two or three times a week,i guess the only real thing to do is add more ram......

CHEFRON's photo