no photo
Wed 12/09/09 06:46 PM
You bring up a good point, Shasta1. I should have stopped to consider that before I painted this mom with the "spineless parent brush."

no photo
Wed 12/09/09 06:42 PM
Was I supposed to get a magic wand???? Does it come with instructions? (What the heck am I asking THAT for? I never read the dang instructions until AFTER I break something.)

Many thanks to all of you for taking the time to say hi.

no photo
Tue 12/08/09 11:59 AM
I always wondered what people meant when they described someone as an "Enabler." Now I know! That mom needs to grow a spine and tell Junior to get off his butt and push the grocery cart for her.

no photo
Tue 12/08/09 10:02 AM
There are kind-hearted people in lots of places. A number of years ago, when I was a police officer, I investigated a suicide case in which a woman died, leaving a husband and two young children behind. Her death occurred two days before Christmas.

These people were poor. Below dirt poor. Even if mom hadn't died, I suspect those kids weren't going to be having much of a Christmas.

So, on the day before Christmas me and some of the people in my department took it upon ourselves to start a collection to help this family. I figured if we could raise a hundred dollars the family might be able to have a decent meal and buy a few presents for the kids. We went into bars and told the story, then passed around my uniform hat. We went to department stores and asked for a couple toys. We went to grocery stores and asked for some food.

Now, please understand, this story is not about ME or my fellow cops. It's about the people who shared what they had so someone else could have a better, although still sad, Christmas. At the end of the day I was able to give that family $1500 and I had a patrol car full of toys and food for them.

There ARE good people in the world. Sometimes we just don't see it enough.

no photo
Mon 12/07/09 08:33 PM