Community > Posts By > ZudaMadison

ZudaMadison's photo
Thu 02/12/15 10:15 AM
Hi, I am new here, but did read through the first page of posts on this topic. This is my experience. My late husband and I, out of necessity, had to move in together before marriage. We both wanted to wait until marriage, but unfortunately, that didn't happen. We were both Christians, both knew it was sinful. I couldn't repent because even though I felt bad about it, I had no desire to stop. True repentance means that you do not wish to grieve the Holy Spirit that is within you, by continuing to sin.

Before we moved in together, I was a Sunday School teacher. I was on fire for the Lord. Felt such love for and from my Savior that I felt like a newlywed. When we moved in together, not wanting to be a stumbling block, I pro-actively stepped down from the ministry. We also changed churches and were close-lipped about our relationship at our new church. As a Christian we are to avoid even the appearance of sin.

Once we started having sex, we refrained from Communion. Biblically if you eat or drink communion unworthily, with sin or unforgiveness on your heart, you eat and drink damnation or condemnation on yourself.

Eventually we finally managed to restrain ourselves until we married as we both felt such guilt. I however, continued in un-repentance as I hoped we would again resume sexual relations.

Finally we married about 14 months after we started living together. I repented finally. But we lost the blessing of marriage and never fully consummated our marriage. I truly believe it was a consequence of our earlier disregard for God's law. My husband later died 2 years, one month and 2 days after our wedding.

I wish I could say I have re-acquired my passion and fire for God. I am getting nearer. But I still struggle with distractions of this world, not sex, but just things that steal my time and focus from my calling.