Community > Posts By > AKchatterbox114

AKchatterbox114's photo
Thu 11/29/18 03:12 PM
907 area code is all of Alaska. Anchorage is probably the biggest city while others keep growing I love all of Alaska. We aren't so big we fail to smile or say hello to complete strangers. Even people open doors for us Seniors. To discover Alaska here is a great place to start https://www.travelalaska.com/Destinations/Communities.aspx or you can try our newspaper Anchorage Daily News at adn.com If you are a tourist check out this site https://greatalaska.com/?gclid=Cj0KCQiAuf7fBRD7ARIsACqb8w43b0O1--4on4Bkly9xVZuKWMj0a-OnJA40XcYwrUd628h1L-lL1HkaAlwgEALw_wcB If you are going to Whittier I recomment taking the train there isn't much need to take your car and you'd end up parking it in their parking lot unless you have a 4x4 then you can do trail camping when you drive deep into the traveled road. There is a lot to do as a tourist and as a resident I still enjoy doing those things like visiting Portage Glacier, going to Seward for their marine museum or camping at Primrose Lake. Going in the other direction, north, I love Thunderbird Falls and Nancy Lake. Hatchers Pass has a lovely road to drive down for some great scenic photos. Fairbanks is a most see city and you can get their tourist pamphlet to check out all they have to offer from the Ice Sculpting business, to the play how Alaska was founded, gold digging, to seeing how the pipeline historical site. If you love horse back riding and having a good time staying n cabins then I would suggest Chena Hot Springs. We also have several air plane tourists companies that can give you an airplane view of Alaska. Seeing Rainy Pass from the air truly leaves one humble at the majestic beauty of the snow covered pass of these large mountains. I have lived in Alaska for 36 years and I absolutely love all the beauty it has to offer. It is by far HOME SWEET HOME.

AKchatterbox114's photo
Thu 11/08/18 08:05 PM